Food Inspiration, General

Winter Al Fresco dining…

 

img_1886

I’ll admit, Christmas isn’t my favourite time of the year, call me scrooge but the stress of buying presents in ridiculously overcrowded shopping centers, hours of driving here, there and everywhere and being around family 24/7 is all just a little too much for me. This year I decided to give myself a bit of a break and make sure I factored in some ‘me’ time over the Christmas period to make sure I didn’t get too overwhelmed – things like sleeping in my own bed when possible and taking time out from everyone for just me and Leight. Thankfully I got the balance just right this year and it turned out to be a lovely Christmas. That being said, I have most definitely had my fill of Christmas films, countless games of charades and finger buffets.

With Christmas out of the way we wanted to make the most of our last few days off so, in between lounging around and eating chocolate, we have been busy getting odd jobs done and getting outdoors as much as possible to make the most of the daylight before heading back to work with the dark mornings and dark drives home. Roll on Spring!

I have always loved the idea of a Winter bbq – heading out in the frosty air, wrapped up warm and cooking up some tasty food and since the weather has been so mild lately we thought it was the perfect opportunity to get out and get cooking! 

Most of our camping gear is ancient and barely working so as a treat we headed to Blacks to deck ourselves out with some new equipment in the sale. We bagged some great bargains including this Camping Stove (which was half price) along with this cooking set and some shiny new flasks to replace our old leaky ones.

All set with our new kit we headed to one of our regular picnic spots – Cosmeston Lake and found a quiet bench overlooking the lake for a delicious al fresco lunch.

img_1885img_0603

We stuffed our faces with hotdogs, fried onions, toasted marshmallows and washed it all down with a warming flask of hot chocolate. We tried out a new hot chocolate from Whittards in place of the flaked chocolate one we normally get – we are in house savings mode you see and need to cut down on luxuries booo! This one is just as tasty as and half the price (its 20% off at the moment too!)

img_1892img_1894img_1899img_1900img_1903img_1904img_1890

We left with full bellies and big smiles on our faces. Life is all about adventures and spontaneous days out and I am looking forward to many more days like this in 2017. Its another year to start fresh, make a few changes and achieve new goals! Happy New Year – I hope it’s a good one!

Leave a comment