General, Highlights of the week

Highlights of the week…

img_0711

It’s been a while since I last wrote a HOTW post – That’s not to say that I haven’t had any highlights, there have been plenty I can assure you, I’ve just not had the time to sit and make a note of them which is a shame as I really do love writing this type of post. I especially enjoy reading it back too so I MUST promise myself to make more of an effort to get something together each week. Here are my most recent highlights…

  • Getting my job application in – An opportunity has come up at work for me to progress up to my managers role to cover her maternity leave. After a week of slowly putting my application together and 6 hours worth of finalising – I finally handed it in! Now all I have to do is wait to hear back about an interview and do my best to keep my anxiety levels down at the same time. Wish me Luck!
  • Having the bed to myself – I really do miss Leighton when he goes away on residential trips, I miss being able to come home from work to a friendly face and having a chat about my day with a cuppa. One thing I do love about him being away though is the fact that I have the bed ALL to myself! What a treat that is!
  • Date night with friends – Outings with my friends always make my highlights of the week list – and rightly so too! There is nothing better than a good catch up and a laugh with friends to make a long stressful day at work seem like a distant memory. This week we went full on old school and opted for a few games of bowling (I came second overall yippee!) followed by a dirty Mcdonalds and a session of discussing future life plans – It was just like being 14 again.
  • Crisp mornings – hasn’t the weather been lovely lately? The mornings have been especially beautiful with the sun rising that little bit earlier making the drive to work less dark and gloomy.
  • Ed Sheeran – I didn’t realise how much I love this guy, I am particularly loving his new song Castle on the hill at the moment, which is currently the soundtrack to my drive home from work. Music on full blast and singing my little heart out – What a feel good song!
  • Lighter evenings – I am literally so excited that when I leave for work it’s not entirely pitch black anymore!
  • Friday night takeaway – Its been just over a year and a half since Leight and I last had a takeawy of any sort. We really enjoy cooking so tend to usually make our own. On Friday we were feeling far to lazy to even think about cooking so thought it was a good time to give the old takeaway another go. After a bit of research (we are extremely fussy) we opted for a Chinese which turned out to be pretty damn good!  Writing this I’ve just realised I’ve had two fast food meals this week! Naughty!
  • Bread Making – After totally failing at my first attempt of bread making last week (it came out of the oven as hard as a rock) I was determined to give it another go and crack the bread making code. I wouldn’t say I totally cracked it but I was pleased that I managed to bake something that was just about edible! Hooray! Visually it looked great but was slightly dense and a bit doughy. It’s really not as easy as they make it look on the TV. I don’t know if olive and sundried tomato bread might have been a bit too adventurous for a beginner, perhaps I should go back to the basics. I will persist though!

I hope you had a lovely week too!

Leave a comment